“We cannot become what we need to be by remaining what we are” (Part 2 of 2)

This is a continuation on my journey forward in 2014. Part 1 can be found here.

When we left off, our intrepid heroine had just found a new full-time job which she loved, thus fulfilling her vision of “Forward,” her One Little Word for 2014. But it was only halfway through the year.

And so here we are. I’m happy in my work. I still actually have two jobs, (there no way I was going to give up my second job–I love it too much), but now I feel fulfilled across the board. Personally, I’m still more of a mess than I would like, but with less stress in my life, I feel like I can take the time to do something about it. It’s funny, because I’m technically more busy than ever, in terms of hours a week working, but whereas before I had a lot of free time, I was stressed out, and exhausted, and felt like much of that time was required for me to simply relax and recharge my batteries enough to face the next week. (I will say, though, that two-day weekends now feel quite short.)

I’m not sure what “forward” is going to look like the rest of the year. I keep thinking about things like NaNoWriMo, which I haven’t participated in since 2008, massive knitting projects, or picking up blogging again (which is why I’m here now). I want to completely make over our home. I was lucky enough to win a free seat in Big Picture Classes Phone Photography Project 2 this summer, and so I’ve started getting serious about doing something with the dozens to hundreds of iPhone photos I take every month. (Many of which you can see on my instagram feed.) I have all these ideas bouncing around in my head, which feels great.

But I think the trick, for me, is to get better on the follow-through. To find a way forward with some of these goals and ideas. To continue to work towards a happier, healthier me.

“We cannot become what we need to be by remaining what we are”

I love this quote. It is a reminder that the only way forward is to grow, to change, to learn, to experiment. And so here I am. Forward bound.

Leave a Reply

