The End.

So, I did it. I finished. I wrote those two beloved little words.

The End.

This draft has come out to a total of either 55,891 words, or 56,032 words, depending on whether or not you count scene headers (which are mostly descriptive, for my own use.) 

I started it at 12:01 a.m., November 1, 2008, and finished at 7:35ish p.m. November 28. My average daily wordcount was about 2000 words, which also happens to be my daily goal. In fact, my daily wordcount varied widely, from over 5600 one day, to 5 total on my lightest day. I wrote over 2000 words 16 of those 28 days. 

This is the 8th NaNoWriMo I’ve attempted, my third “win” and my first finished draft. 

I am going to go back to this novel. As I mentioned before, I learned a lot about what this novel was about writing that final scene. I get now, why some people write their ending first, and then write to it, though when I started the novel, I had no idea what my ending would be. 

So I plan on printing it out, and spending some time editing, writing another 30K or 50K, or even more words in the process.

But for now, I’m just going to bask in the glow of having completed, and maybe go eat some chocolate to celebrate. 

Tomorrow’s going to be very strange, without something hanging over my head, urging me to finish it.

4 thoughts on “The End.

Leave a Reply

