Write or Die!

So, I’m into a part of the story that requires a bit of sentimentality. Ugh. Not my favorite. I really need to figure out how to work a couple of good jokes into it (unfortunately, it’s Marie, not Dex. Dexter’s jokes come easily–Marie, not so much. And I really miss Dex, by the way. I feel like I’ve been writing Marie for the last three days straight. Of course, this would not be the case if I’d been hitting my wordcount goals… anyway!)

Anyway, I wanted to share this online writing app that’s been much touted on the NaNoWriMo forums: Write or Die! I used it to get three hundred words written this morning, and it’s a really good kickstart. I like wordwars, but pretty much only when you can have one war after another, after another, rather than stopping for a lot of discussion in between. I did a few the first couple of days of NaNoWriMo this year, but then found I worked better on my own, which, I think might be a first for me. Still, Write or Die has the same “keep typing” impetus that wordwars provide, without the chatter, and it did well to get me back into the story.

Okay, so here’s how it works. You adjust a bunch of settings, and then click start, and it takes you to a text box in the middle of a blank page. And you write, as fast as you can! Simple, really. But it’s the settings that make it truly brilliant. You set a timer, for the length of time to write, and a word count goal… pretty basic, right? But then you have the option to set it on “gentle,” “normal,” or “kamikaze” modes, (there’s also an electric shock mode, which isn’t functional yet) and adjust the grace periods from “forgiving” to “evil”. 

The different modes provide different impetus to make you write, if, for some reason, you stop typing: in gentle, there’s a pop-up reminder, in normal, a loud “unpleasant” noise, and in kamikaze, it starts untyping your words! I set my mode on kamikaze, but grace period to forgiving–before it starts untyping your words, the background of the page gradually turns red, to give you an extra warning. 

I enjoyed playing with it before November started, but this is the first time I’ve actually used it, and I think it’s a great way to war against yourself, and get yourself writing if the words are stuck.

2 thoughts on “Write or Die!

  1. I saw that app somewhere and I think I might give it a shot. I have a hard time getting myself to sit and write for long periods of time. I’m easily distracted. I think whomever came up with the DSL internet connection did it on purpose to distract me. 😀

  2. Hi-speed internet is the bane of my existence as well, at least when it comes to writing… the first two years I won NaNoWriMo had two things in common for me: I wasn’t in school, and I didn’t have internet access on the computer I was writing on! 😀

Leave a Reply

