Painful day…

The analogy of “pulling teeth” is a) over used, and b) not precisely accurate, so I won’t use it to describe my writing today. Instead, I’ll go for a longer metaphor. I hurt my knee a few months ago, and spent a month or so in physical therapy for it. I had trouble straightening it fully, and spent long painful PT sessions finally getting it straight, and then I’d go home, and an hour later, I couldn’t straighten it again. 

That was what today’s writing felt like–utter futility. I’d write, and it would be painful, but things would start to work, and then something would come up, and I’d have to go back and start all over again. I knew that Julia would be upset for some reason in this scene, but I didn’t know why, or how it would play out, and had false start after false start after false start. Changed my mind about the direction things would take… oh, I don’t know how many times.

Ended the day at 28,353 words, a bit under my goal for the day, but that’s fine. I’m done for now. Going to go rest my (metaphorical) knee, and try again tomorrow. 

(Stupid Week 2!)

One thought on “Painful day…

  1. Pingback: Pages tagged "wordpress"

Leave a Reply

