Election Day!

I never wrote a final update last night because by the time I typed my last words of the night, I was fried, thanks to a combination of my writing going okay, but not great, cooking a big meal for my aunt’s birthday, and the end of daylight savings time, which still has me sleepy by eleven. 

I did manage to eke out 2000 words, though, and although I’m not happy with the scene, there are enough bare bones that I’m moving on. I feel good about my next scene, and am looking forward to writing it. Also, I’ve figured out something cool, and finally made sense of Lazette Gifford’s phase outline method, but I’ll write about that in a different post, because…

It’s time to vote! I’m ready. I’ve got my mental checklist of who I’m voting for, I have my rainbow socks on (both in support of those people voting “No” on Prop 8 three thousand miles away, and because they’re thigh high socks, and I’m expecting long lines out in the cold!) and I’ll have plenty of writing-enabled technology to while away the time in line… my iPod touch, my cell phone, and a notebook and pens for backup! (I’d probably go to the notebook first, but it can be awkward writing in a notebook while standing up… not impossible, but not my first choice.)

Of course, now that I’ve said all that, I’m sure that I’ll be in and out within a half hour. One can hope–I’ve been hearing a lot about long lines at early voting, and I’m worried, not about my wait, because I can afford to spend the time, but because I know there are people out there who can’t. Voting is something I feel very strongly that every American citizen should do–should want to do, and should be able to.

One last note. Today, November 4th, is my mother’s birthday. If she were alive, she’d be 52. She’d have already voted, by absentee ballot, which she always preferred. I remember when I was a young girl, standing by her side as she filled out her ballot, explaining to me how she decided which way to vote on certain propositions. 

Happy birthday, mom.

One thought on “Election Day!

  1. Pingback: An apology « Wingcolor

Leave a Reply

