Time for a breeze to shake the house of cards

I finished scene 3 this morning, thanks to the AIM WrimoWars chatroom. The first three scenes were fine when I envisioned them, but they lost something in translation–I think I’m going to need to go back and streamline quite a bit when I edit.

But then I wrote the first 85 words of scene four, and hopped into the shower, both to bathe, and to think about where this scene would go. And this scene, which was originally just a placeholder to get me where I needed to go, and then later became something a little more interesting when I changed the setting, has become a really fun scene. I’m looking forward to it–there’s a bit of humor, a bit of the ghost (though no one will realize it yet, thanks to the Sixth Sense rules)–and most importantly, it sets up the major emotional throughline for Dexter in a way thats more interesting than her just sitting around being bored with her life. 

Of to it! I have 3,264 words now. I’d like to get at least 1500 out of this scene. I’m still going for 10K today, but honestly, at this point, I’ll be happy with whatever I end up with.

Leave a Reply

